Words of Wisdom

Today Molly and I were cleaning out some things just getting ready for the arrival of the baby boy and I found a canvas bag that I had set aside a number of months ago.

It was from my grandmother… I pulled the papers out, and on top was a manilla folder with my name on it. I don’t really know how it got there or if someone else put these in that folder with my name on it. I opened it up and found a single sheet of paper with about a dozen little sayings that she felt important enough to write down.

“The best things in life aren’t things.”

“Sometimes the best helping hand you can give is a good, firm push.”

“Some cause happiness wherever they go; others whenever they go.”

“You test the depth of the water with both feet.”

“Learning from your mistakes is smart. Learning from the mistakes of others is wise.”

“If you think education is expensive, try ignorance.”

“If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.”

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

“Examine what is said, not who speaks.”

“Don’t tell me how hard you work. Tell me how much you get done.”

So I decided that these needed to live on somewhere other than a piece of paper that I’m bound to lose, and I sat down to type these out and staring me in the face, it was 11:11 AM.

Thanks for checking in, Mimi. šŸ™‚

One response to “Words of Wisdom

  1. carol bielamowicz

    Thanks for sharing this John. I am sitting outside in my office, James’ old room, at her desk, and really feeling her presence today, and missing her a lot. Love you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

