Update 4/17

Who would’ve guessed my New Year’s resolution was to blog more? That worked out well, didn’t it…

So here are somethings we’ve been working on:

This is John bustin’ out the Jacuzzi tub in the master bath.  This picture is actually flipped because I took it with my laptop camera.  We removed this tub sometime last Fall.

These are two shots of the master closet before I tackled it.  As you can see it was nasty and needed a good scrubbing.  I spent my Christmas break working on and painting this closet (including the ceiling).  It’s actually a good size closet, but it’s hard to tell on camera because I can’t get a good full shot with the camera.

This is what John did over Christmas break.  He’s getting ready to drywall after we moved the plumbing for the master vanity about a foot and a half to the right.  The vanity we got off Craigslist is about a foot and a half shorter than the original (we knew that when we bought it).  John’s brother is a plumber so his skills were really came in handy.

We removed the crooked yaupon holly in our front flower bed.  This was pretty good timing on our part because it snowed heavily in the next couple days.  The yaupon holly tree next door lost some big limbs from the weight of the snow.

So here’s how we’re living currently:

This is our Craigslist vanity.  It’s taller than the old one (yay).  Also, you can see we’ve pulled the mirror down and most of the wallpaper.  The sinks are hooked up, but we still mainly use the house bath since it has a mirror and functioning shower.

Hey there!  It’s our new white toilet; an elongated bowl in a compact size.  I know you’re jealous.  We picked this up a Home Depot in the clearance section.  We actually bought two and the other was installed in our house bath a year-and-a-half ago (time is passing fast).  That is the mirrored, sliding closet door on the left and yes the toilet does slightly stick out in front of it (which it also did before we replaced it).  Again you can see my handiwork on display as the Main Wallpaper Peeler in this house.

This is a peak into our closet (I cannot get a good picture, but the paint is all white).  You can see the concrete floors that are patiently awaiting tile.  On the left is the sliding closet door for the guest bedroom.  Down below are some tools related to installing the plumbing.  To orient yourself, the toilet is just to the right of the frame and a window is on the adjoining wall on the left.  This picture is taken from the doorway out of the master bedroom.

This is where the Jacuzzi used to sit – the motor is sitting in the corner.  The window is covered by a blanket and you can just make out the old tub plumbing in lower left.  This is what it’s like to live in a project.  Make sure you’re ready for it before you get too excited.

And this is the old shower with the shower glass leaning on the wall.  You can see that demo here.

This is the office/study/3rd bedroom.  The front door is to the right of that door frame and the living room is to the left (I’m standing in the foyer).  As you can see, we finished the floors sometime last Fall.  Now that I’ve done a little more decorating, I hope to use this room.  The mirror you see in the corner is the old master bath mirror that we tried to cut down to fit the new vanity.  That didn’t work out so well and we have yet to decide what to do with it.

I love typography and have collected letters and numbers as I find them.  I hope to have a full alphabet someday, but part of the fun is collecting it.

This is the guest bedroom.  I hadn’t originally planned on it becoming a nautical room, but I got on a kick and bought a few things I liked.  This is how it ended up.  Hmm.  This room will also be my sewing room once I figure out how to use the my mom’s sewing machine again.

So there you have it.  That’s what it’s like in our house.  It can certainly be a bit unglamorous to live in a project.  I’ve actually become quite accustomed to it and am only bothered when we want to invite people over.  I can live with it, but do find it a little embarrassing to have others realize this is what it really is.  That and both of our bathrooms have foundation slab floors.

Here’s to less than six months before our next post!

One response to “Update 4/17

  1. Good job! And so be envious of you guys because I still can’t make a decision to repair my house. I think work with a old house is really hard than a new one! I have some passion now after read this, thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

